Councillor Karen Soons

County Councillor for Thingoe South and District Councillor for Newmarket North

Karen has lived in rural Suffolk all her adult life. She is married to Martin & they have 4 grown up children. Having been a director and trustee of local companies, schools & charities, Karen chose to give something back to her local community and feels that parishes need a greater say in the future of their area. Karen says ‘It has been a privilege to work with the Theatre Royal, St Edmundsbury Cathedral, King Edward VI school & many other community groups. I feel outreach is vital to our local communities’. 

Karen was elected to Thingoe South Division in the County Council elections in 2017, the Division includes 20 hamlets/villages south of Bury St Edmunds. The Wards of Barrow cum Denham, Chedburgh, Rougham, Horringer & Whelnetham are within the boundaries for Thingoe South.  Karen was elected to Newmarket North in January 2020.

Karen is also a Parish Councillor in Tuddenham. 

See Also

County Councillor Mary Evans

Chairman of WSCA and Deputy Leader of Suffolk County Council
Suffolk born and bred, Mary trained as a journalist on the East Anglian Daily Times before she became a political correspondent at Westminster. She returned home to Suffolk in 2004 and soon became involved in her local community leading the campaign to save and upgrade the village hall. 

Councillor Andy Drummond

County Councillor for Newmarket and Redlodge
District Councillor for Newmarket West
Deputy Chairman - Political

Andy is the Distirct Councillor for Newmarket West ward and Cabinet Member for Planning on West Suffolk Council. He is chairman of Newmarket Conservatives, Deputy Chairman (Political) of West Suffolk Conservative Association and a Newmarket Town Councillor

Councillor Robert Nobbs


Robert is councillor for the West Suffolk District seat of Newmarket East on West Suffolk District Council

Councillor Joe Mason

Joe is the Conservative Councillor for Haverhill North on West Suffolk District Council

County Councillor Colin Noble

Colin is Conseravtive County Councillor on Suffolk County Councillor for Row Heath
Colin lives in Lakenheath with his partner Lisa and has been a Councillor since 2006, firstly on Suffolk County Council and since 2011 on Forest Heath District Council as well.

Councillor Louis Busuttil

Louis Busuttil is a Suffolk County Councillor for Mildenhall Division. 

Louis lives and works in the heart of Mildenhall, having moved there almost five years ago to run his own consultancy practice with his wife Jane.

Councillor Carol Bull

Carol is the Conservative District Councillor for Barningham Ward in the West Suffolk Council and sits on the Development Control and Performance and Audit Committees of St. Edmundsbury Borough Council. Married with two children, she was born in Cheshire, educated in Surrey and has lived in Suffolk villages for over 40 years, the last seven in Hopton